

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF NOTTINGHAMSHIRE LAWN TENNIS ASSOCIATION LTD HELD AT THE COUNTY GROUND ON MONDAY 2nd DECEMBER 2024 at 6:30pm

Present: Heather Ankers (League Secretary), Jonathan Ankers (Burton Joyce), Mark Blackburn (Nottingham Castle), Nick Bonnello (Board), Rick Britton (Board), Sue Clague (Notts LTA Chair), Margaret Cobb (League Chair), Alex Dickenson (Woodthorpe), Paula Graham (Retford), Tony Jenkin Jones (Padel Representative), Kate King (County Liaison Officer), Niril Nana (Retford/Welbeck/Magdala), Sue Pannell (League Secretary), Tim Phillips (Board), Luis Da Silva (Padel Ambassador), Christopher Walker (President), Tony Wells (Southwell), Peter Yard (Lady Bay)

Welcome: Christopher Walker, Notts LTA President welcomed everyone in attendance and asked for any apologies, as listed below.

<u>Apologies:</u> Carol Wilkinson (Mansfield), Rosie Watkins (East Bridgford), Richard Farnsworth (Bingham), Sue Connor (Farnsfield), Alastair Weir (County Training), Andy Bradley (Notts LTA), David Tanner (Notts LTA), Jill Shelvey (Notts LTA)

<u>Minutes of the 2023 AGM</u>: These were made available for everyone present to read. Following a point of correction (shown in Matter Arising below), CW proposed that they be accepted as a true record of the previous AGM, seconded by Mark Blackburn

<u>Matters Arising:</u> Margaret Cobb asked that she be shown as present at the 2023 AGM as her name was missing from the attendance list. This has now been corrected.

Tony Wells asked if the League Rule change discussed under AOB had been acted upon? It was agreed that League Rules could be discussed once the League Chair had been elected (item 6 on the Agenda)

Finance Report: Nick Bonnello read the finance report (appendix 1) and asked for any questions. Alex Dickenson asked what was included in the one third deferred income. NB replied that it was made up of the LTA Grant and Sponsorship funds. Thanks were given to Jonathan Ankers for reviewing the accounts. CW proposed that the report and draft accounts be accepted, and Alex Dickenson seconded the proposal.

<u>Election of Board Members:</u> CW proposed that the Board members be elected en bloc as there had been no other nominations from clubs. This was seconded by Sue Pannell.

Board Officers to be elected:

Chair – Sue Clague Finance Officer – Lisa Oyaide-Nicholls EDI Officer – Niral Nana Safeguarding Officer – Jonathon Little Club Leagues Manager – Margaret Cobb Club Rep – Alex Dickenson Club Rep – Paula Graham

CW then handed over the meeting to the newly elected Notts LTA Chair, Sue Clague.

<u>Election of League Chair:</u> Margaret Cobb was proposed by Sue Clague as the League Chair, seconded by Paula Graham. Margaret was therefore elected.

<u>President's Report:</u> CW read his report (Appendix 2) and SC thanked him for his excellent and detailed account of the year.

<u>Chair's report:</u> SC gave her report entitled 'Comings and Goings' (Appendix 3), giving a particular vote of thanks to the outgoing Board members:-

- Christopher Walker
- Andy Bradley
- Nick Bonnello
- Rick Britton
- David Tanner
- Tim Phillips

<u>AOB:</u> Tony Wells raised the issue that Southwell ladies team were having issued uploading their match results. Margaret Cobb responded to say that help could be provided by the League Committee.

TW also asked if consideration might be given to a 4 player league in the future, rather than the current 6 player teams. MC replied that any changes to leagues or rules could be submitted to the committee by any club or club member, allowing sufficient time for consideration ahead of the new season beginning. Any new proposals should be submitted to the League Chair.

Mark Blackburn questioned whether it would be better to only have one league format for the summer rather than the current 2 formats. MC said that this could certainly be considered if he wished to put it forward to the League committee, as a proposal that clubs could vote on. However, MC said that an advantage of having 2 separate summer leagues was that players had the opportunity to play more tennis with the current system.

<u>Closing Remarks</u>: SC thanked everyone for coming and the meeting closed at 7.22pm